How to make out of this world Pimms

Picture a blend of fruity flavors perfectly complimenting each other in a beverage that tastes so decculent you would hardly believe it was alcoholic. Well, you may start to believe after you help yourself to a few glasses of this amazing concoction! I would say it is one of Britain’s best kept secrets. It completely breaks the stereotype of British sustenance being flavorless. At least for alcoholic drinks that is.

pimms2

As many people in the UK know, Pimms is a unique cocktail that many people have in the summer as an afternoon drink as it comprises a tropical taste. The amazing thing about Pimms is that it does not taste too strong compared to other drinks (where you might as well be taking shots) but has quite a lot of alcohol within it. The alcohol mixture of Pimms has about 25% alcohol and half a gin shot in addition.

As an American, I was new to this and had to see what everyone was going on about. I would say it could almost be called British sangria, but without the wine. One of the best parts of this recipe (besides how amazing it tastes) is how easy and quick it is to make!

pimms1

There are many variations of Pimms but how I made mine (which was able to get me about two glasses) was by adding:

Pimms no. 1 mixture 2 shots (200 ml)

half a shot of gin (50ml)

Sprite or Ginger Ale (or as they call it over in the UK “Lemonade”)

1 Orange

6 medium to large Strawberries (I added more but I love Strawberries so it is up to taste!)

A few slices of cucumber

A few mint leaves

half a Lime

Ice

  1. Start by adding ice to your glass. Add the two shots of Pimms and the half shot of gin.
  2. Add the fruits. I like to squeeze the juices out a few of the strawberries and the orange when I make my Pimms in order to really taste that flavor. However, some just simply place it in the glass.
  3. Add the mint leaves.
  4. Pour in the Sprite, Ginger Ale, Lemonade or whatever it is that you are using till it fills the rest of the glass.
  5. Stir it around and enjoy!

Here is a photo of mine when I finished it. (I added quite a lot more strawberry juice to give it this red color and flavoring. However, the regular Pimms should be a light brown.)

pimms3

If Pimms catches on in other countries maybe British cocktails will be the next “in” thing.

Leave a comment